My Trip to Magnolia

Any Fixer Upper fans out there?  I caught an episode last summer and I was hooked.  I recorded all of the shows and slowly watched them because I knew there would be a few months until season two.  I didn’t want to watch all of them in a week (well, actually, I did!).  I couldn’t believe how beautiful the homes were in the end.  It was amazing to see the work they did, and I just love Joanna’s style.  I plan to use a lot of her design ideas in our new home.

In January my husband had a business meeting in Dallas, TX.  I had planned to go with him for two reasons:  1) It is his 10th anniversary in the company and he was recognized for it and 2) I knew Dallas would be warmer than Indiana in January!  I have flown through the Dallas airport but I’ve never been there, and I have actually never been to Texas.  I was excited about a little getaway and knowing that I had two days to explore while my husband was in meetings, I started researching what I should see.  Just four days before leaving I was watching Fixer Upper and Googled to see how far Waco was from Dallas.  It was only about 80 miles from where we were staying, so I ran my idea by my husband.

I flew into Dallas late Thursday night and my Friday morning at 10 I had a rental car and was on my way to Waco!  I know many people who have a word of the year, and since I’m turning 40 at the end of 2015 my word is YOLO.  I know that’s not a word, but honestly- You DO Only Live Once, right?  I was so excited for my road trip to Waco!

Honestly when I got there I drove right by it.  It’s actually a tiny little house and there were so many cars in the parking lot I just couldn’t see it!  But I turned around and found it right away.

photo 4

It’s such a cute little shop!  I saw a young family in front trying to take a picture and after snapping a pic for them they took one of me.  Then I went inside to check it out!

photo 1

It was just as cute as I had expected it would be, maybe even cuter.  I really wanted to buy one of everything!  I had planned on buying a few things and both my hubby and I brought bigger suitcases that weren’t full, just so I could pack anything that I bought.

photo 2 (2)

I really love that big canvas of the United States.  Like, LOVE it.  I also loved how everything was displayed.

photo 2

The day I was there seemed to be a busy day, but I overheard one of the employees say that everyday has been pretty busy!  They have a lot of inventory but they said they have a hard time keeping up.  I guess I’m not the only one who loves the show.

photo 3 (2)

I ended up buying a sage plant, two pots, a wooden planter basket, and two magnolia leaves.  I would’ve bought more but I wasn’t sure if I had room, and I knew I could always order things online.

photo 1 (2)

I had such a fun day and I am so glad that I decided to road trip to Waco.  It was fun seeing Texas (plus I found some outlets on the way back to the hotel!).  I don’t know if I’ll get back anytime soon, but if I do you better believe I will be taking another road trip to Magnolia.  After all, you only live once!  #yolo

photo 3

Leave a Reply

