Making a Rose out of a Paper Napkin

When we were setting the table for our Easter brunch, I wanted to make our paper napkins look fancy.  I did a quick search for a tutorial but they all seemed a little more advanced.  I finally found one that we tweaked a bit to make it work, so I thought I’d share it.  My daughter helped me with this tutorial.  🙂

First, we took two napkins and some tape.  Unfold your napkin.

DSC_0631_edited-1

DSC_0634_edited-1

Then fold it into a triangular shape.

DSC_0638_edited-1

Starting at the side opposite the point, roll the napkin.

DSC_0640_edited-1

DSC_0642_edited-1

Then tape down the point (this isn’t necessary, but it made it easier for my 7-year-old).

DSC_0643_edited-1

Then begin wrapping the roll.   My daughter used her finger to wrap the napkin, as shown.

DSC_0644_edited-1

Once it is wrapped you can tape down the end if needed.

DSC_0647_edited-1

To make our rose a little bigger, we did the process again and wrapped one more napkin around our flower.

DSC_0651_edited-1

And that’s it!

DSC_0654_edited-1

We used them in our place settings to give them a pop of color.

DSC_0662_edited-1

The original tutorial that I used (that I can’t find, ugh!) did this with cloth napkins.  They only used one napkin and tucked the ends in.  I tried it with a couple of our cloth napkins and it was very easy!

DSC_0663_edited-1

DSC_0664_edited-1

I thought the paper roses could also be used to do a 3-D art project.  Wouldn’t it be cool to put some on a canvas?  Oh, the possibilities!  I will have to tuck that idea away for a rainy summer day project. 🙂

nap

Leave a Reply

