A Small Bath Makeover {After}

The other day I shared some pictures of our small downstairs bathroom.  To be honest, the paint was in decent condition.  The house was painted about 2 1/2 years ago and has held up to the move and our kiddos.  🙂  The only downside is the entire house is the same beige color.  Ten  years ago this would have been my dream, but trends and tastes have changed and I really want to go with more grays, blues, and greens in our home.  The good thing is since our house is neutral I’m in no rush to redo it all.

DSC_1715_edited-1

We have had issues with the toilet since we moved in, and when a plumber told us that it probably would never be right (because of the shape of the bowl) we decided to search for a replacement.  I was hoping for something a little more square to match the sink.

DSC_1716_edited-1

I liked the light fixture but wanted to replace the globes with ones that were white.  Unfortunately I couldn’t find the correct sizes so I ended up buying a new light fixture.  That was really all this bathroom needed- besides paint, of course!

DSC_1709_edited-1

DSC_1717_edited-1

DSC_1718_edited-1

The bathroom isn’t very big, but it does have this pretty window with a beautiful leaded glass decoration.  My kids love it because when the sun shines in there are rainbows everywhere!  I wish the window were more centered in the bathroom.  It kind of drives me crazy!  I can’t decide what to do with this wall so for now it will stay empty.

DSC_1711_edited-1

I bought the paint last week (Sherwin Williams Light French Gray) and painted behind the toilet before the new one was installed.  Then over the weekend I finished painting the walls.  I spent Monday morning priming and painting the cabinet.  As you can tell in the before photos the doors were white, but the inside was brown.  It took two coats of primer and three coats of semi-gloss paint, but it makes a huge difference!  Here is what our bathroom looks like now:

DSC_1789_edited-1

I. Love. It.  I love it so much I will just walk in there and look at it.  I know that sounds terribly weird, but really I just have this vision for my house and seeing it come together in one room makes me happy.  Now if I could just snap my fingers and have the rest of the house done.  Ha!

DSC_1762_edited-2

The new toilet matches our sink nicely.  It’s the same brand (Kohler) but a slightly different style. I think it works.

DSC_1765_edited-1

I found the new light fixture at Menard’s and bought the white glass globes there as well.  We had some hiccups when we were installing it (the outlet box isn’t secured well to the wall), so when we have an electrician come to do some other projects we will have that fixed.

DSC_1767_edited-1

DSC_1775_edited-1

I found the gray planter at Target in their outdoor section, and the succulent adds a nice pop of green.  I am still looking for some fun towels to add some color and texture to the space.

DSC_1787_edited-1

While the cabinet took a lot of paint, I love how it turned out.  New knobs give it a completely different look.  I’m still trying to figure out how to style the cabinets.  🙂

DSC_1782_edited-1

I really like the new toilet, too.  I love the clean lines of the back and it works, too (bonus!).  Who knew I could like a toilet so much?  Ha!  Eventually I will order this sign I found on Etsy for the space above the toilet:

DSC_1782_edited-12pg

Out of all of it I think it’s the color I love the most.  It makes everything a little brighter.  It’s really amazing what a little paint can do, isn’t it?

Untitled-2

Now I leave the hallway door open so that every time I walk by I can look at this pretty little bathroom!

DSC_1792_edited-1

DSC_1789_edited-2What do you think of the makeover?  I would love it if you would leave a comment and let me know what color of towels to buy!  🙂

Leave a Reply

