Monday Makeover!

One of the reasons I started this blog was to give me an excuse to focus on projects I want to do around the house.  Sometimes life gets too busy and things like painting rooms and furniture are easy to push aside.  I have done that a lot this year.  I thought I’d have more rooms done in my house, but I’ve only been able to finish three this year.  And who am I kidding?  They’re not quite finished!  🙂

In August my husband’s cousin posted a picture of an old dresser on Facebook.  She asked if any of the cousins would want it….and of course I did.  But since I’m a cousin-in-law I didn’t say anything.  The dresser had belonged my husband’s grandmother and being someone who cherishes family heirlooms I really wished we could have it.  A few days later my husband’s cousin messaged me and asked if I wanted it since no one else was interested.  I couldn’t say yes fast enough!  The trouble was it was at my husband’s aunt’s house two hours away and I wasn’t sure when we would be able to go there.

We finally decided to do a day trip on Labor Day weekend.  We spent a couple of hours having lunch with his aunt before heading out to hike nearby.  I was so excited about this dresser I got right to work on it just a few days later.

DSC_0553

DSC_0554

At first I felt bad painting over the stenciling but his aunt assured me that she had done it thirty years ago and it was very worn and ready for a redo.  My husband asked what I was going to do with it and when I told him it would be black he was confused and concerned.  Ut oh….

DSC_0555 DSC_0556

Well once I got her all painted up (three coats of paint left to cure for three weeks inside) he saw my vision.  And I’m in love….

DSC_0042_edited-1

I painted it in a satin finish- the color is SW Tricorn Black.  I got the BEST deal on Sherwin William’s paint at Lowe’s- the day I bought the paint the gallons were half off, making them $13.  Then we got a $10 rebate on the two gallons I bought, so the paint was around $8/gallon!  I have about 3/4 of a gallon leftover, so I’m thinking of painting some of my doors black.  Stay tuned.  🙂

I especially love the ring pulls I found.  The old, original ring pulls were in one of the drawers and I loved them so, but they wouldn’t last with my three kiddos.  I found these beauties on Amazon and they are perfect!

DSC_0047_edited-1

DSC_0048

Now we have a much better and bigger place to store our hats, gloves, and scarves.DSC_0050_edited-1

I’m so happy to have this special piece in our house.

DSC_0046_edited-1

With a little elbow grease and a vision this dresser has a new life in our house!  I love that!

DSC_0054_edited-1

Linking up to Thrifty Decor Chick’s Before and After:

TDC Before and After
Leave a Reply

